12x12 close outline12x12 edit12x12 headphones12x12 headphones outline12x12 pause outline12x12 pause12x12 play outline12x12 play12x12 stop12x12 stop outline12x12 envelope12x12 video outline12x12 download outline12x12 share outline12x12 share12x12 caret up outline12x12 caret right outline12x12 caret left outline12x12 caret down outline16x16 arrow right16x16 arrow left16x16 back to top16x16 caret up16x16 caret right16x16 caret left16x16 caret down16x16 check16x16 clock16x16 download16x16 envelope16x16 heart16x16 headphones16x16 info16x16 map pointer16x16 music16x16 pause16x16 phone16x16 photo16x16 play16x16 print16x16 search16x16 stop16x16 share16x16 warning16x16 talk16x16 user16x16 overflow horizontal16x16 overflow vertical16x16 microphone16x16 arrow left outline16x16 arrow right outline16x16 caret down outline16x16 caret top outline16x16 caret left outline16x16 caret right outline16x16 calendar outline16x16 headphones outline16x16 info outline16x16 pause outline16x16 play outline16x16 stop outline16x16 user outline16x16 warning outline16x16 apple16x16 facebook16x16 google16x16 instagram16x16 rss16x16 twitter16x16 youtube16x16 maboutiqueradio16x16 cart16x16 thumbs down16x16 thumbs up16x16 volume down16x16 mute16x16 volume up16x16 close
  • Home
  • Whitney Houston leads Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's class of 2020

Whitney Houston leads Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's class of 2020

Whitney Houston leads Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's class of 2020© Cover Media

Whitney Houston, The Notorious B.I.G., and Depeche Mode are among the music legends who will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year.

The Doobie Brothers, Nine Inch Nails, and T.Rex are the other three nominees who will be honoured by the organisation at a ceremony in May.

As three of this year's inductees, Whitney, Biggie, and T. Rex, have passed away, they will be celebrated with tribute performances at the event at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio. Living stars traditionally perform at the bash.

Speaking to Rolling Stone magazine, Doobie Brothers guitarist Patrick Simmons said he was delighted to receive the accolade.

"I was really happy about it," he gushed. "It's something that we've been thinking about for a long time. That's kind of one of the things you always hope will happen, especially with a band like ours that has been around this long. We're celebrating 50 years."

However, he revealed that the calibre of stars yet to be inducted meant he was slightly shocked to enter this year.

"There are so many deserving artists that aren't in the Hall of Fame yet," Simmons noted. "Because of that I never thought, 'We deserve it' or 'Why haven't we been chosen?' because I look at all these other artists that are as deserving as we are. Even to be mentioned along with the other inductees, to me, is a great honour."

Artists who were nominated but not inducted this year include Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, Dave Matthews Band, MC5, Motorhead, Rufus and Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden, and Thin Lizzy.

This year's induction ceremony will be broadcast live on HBO on 2 May.

Live from 5:00 PM to 21:00
Votre version d'internet explorer est trop basse. Utilisez au moins la version 11 ou un navigateur récent comme Google Chrome.