Go to content

Meghan Kelly's September favorites to inspire you to choose your next audiobook!

Meghan Kelly's September favorites to inspire you to choose your next audiobook!

Audible.ca has hundreds of thousands of audiobooks, original titles, podcasts, and more, to listen to your favorite stories anywhere.

The Beat 92.5 brings you Meghan’s September favorites to inspire you to choose your next audiobook!

 

Plus, Get a chance to Win 3 audiobooks of your choice with Audible! Listen to "The Beat of your Workday with Meghan Kelly" from 1:00PM to 5:00PM. READ MORE

By chance alone 

Image description is unavailable

An award-winning, internationally best-selling Holocaust memoir by Max Eisen, in the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz

In the spring of 1944 gendarmes forcibly removed Tibor “Max” Eisen and his family from their home, brought them to a brickyard, and eventually loaded them onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At 15 years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave laborer.

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, By Chance Alone details Eisen’s story of survival: the backbreaking slave labor in Auschwitz I, the infamous death march in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, and Eisen’s journey of physical and psychological healing. Ultimately, the book offers a message of hope as the author finds his way to a new life. 

0:00
1:01

Even though September doesn’t mean back to school for ME anymore, the fall season is always my favorite time of year to read, learn and explore.


Thanks to the generosity of Audible and their vast range of audiobooks, this month I was able to listen to “By Chance Alone” written by the incredible Max Eisen, a Holocaust survivor and educator.

His novel, eloquently narrated by Douglas E. Hughes, takes us on a powerful and heartbreaking journey throughout several years of Eisen’s life. We first travel through his younger years as a happy, mischievous and hard-working young man, then, we hear and vividly learn first-hand of his horrifying experience and triumphant survival as a 15 year-old prisoner of Auschwitz-Birkenau. 

In his novel, Eisen also shares how passionate he is about sharing his story with today’s youth, and how significant his title as a Holocaust survivor and educator is to him.

“By Chance Alone” is heartbreaking, gut-wrenching, compelling and educational; it brings the atrocities of the Holocaust to life in a way that I had never experienced during my school years. It is also a beautiful and powerful story of family, love and faith. This memoir is an absolute MUST listen-to.  

- Meghan Kelly -

Image description is unavailable

Get the most out of listening with Audible!

Audible  everything is better when you listen.

Subscribe to our newletter!Subscribe to our newletter!
By subscribing, I agree to receive communications by email from Cogeco Média and its affiliates, including news, updates, activities and contests. You can unsubscribe at any time by using the link at the bottom of our emails or contacting us via our Privacy Policy. Please note, however, that we may still continue to send you service-related and other non-commercial communications. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Streaming will resume following advertisement.
The Beat of your Workday with Meghan Kelly
Live