Go to content

Netflix to eventually start charging users for sharing passwords

Netflix to eventually start charging users for sharing passwords
/ Melissa Ross / Moment / Getty Images

Calling all Netflix users who are using their family member’s login… We have some bad news for you.

Netflix is testing out a new feature that will charge Netflix account owner’s each time their account is used in a separate household, to avoid password sharing.

According to Chengyi Long, director of product innovation at Netflix, separate profiles were initially created on the streaming platform to allow for easier streaming experiences for separate family members from the same household.

“While these have been hugely popular, they have also created some confusion about when and how Netflix can be shared. As a result, accounts are being shared between households — impacting our ability to invest in great new TV and films for our members.”

This testing period will be launched in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru, to start. As of now, we are unaware of when (or if) this feature will be added onto Canadian profiles.

This new information comes as Netflix subscription prices have increased in the previous month… Sigh.

Will this impact your viewing experience with Netflix in any way?

Subscribe to our newletter!Subscribe to our newletter!
By subscribing, I agree to receive communications by email from Cogeco Média and its affiliates, including news, updates, activities and contests. You can unsubscribe at any time by using the link at the bottom of our emails or contacting us via our Privacy Policy. Please note, however, that we may still continue to send you service-related and other non-commercial communications. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Streaming will resume following advertisement.
The Weekend Breakfast
Live
On air uptil 12:00 PM